which way does my aerial face?

WiLL

Hi chaps,

I am not a sound engineer and google has failed me so I turn to you.

My trantec radio mics (mmm feel the quality) have aerial extensions which terminate in large white rods out of which projects a metal 'bracket'. My question is does the bracket face the stage or sit at the rear of the rod. I attach a picture to clarify.

piccie

I may be completely wrong in this case but my experience of aerials would suggest to me that your example is an omni-directional aerial, in which case it won't matter which way it faces.

Regards

Jon

It's a reflector. It's used to give you a little gain in the direction on the opposite side to the reflector. So in your drawing the aerial is the wrong way round.

Here's what Canford have to say about them (read the bit about the HBD);

Wide-band Dipole Antennae

Built inside grey plastic tubes, with attached 1.5 metre cable and BNC type connectors (other terminations available to special order - contact Sales), these 50 ohm devices are suitable for reception and transmission up to 50W. They are supplied complete with versatile spring clamps for attachment to fences, trees and many other convenient fixtures, very handy when on location. MBD and HBD types are not true dipoles in that they are fitted with reflectors to give up to 3dB gain, but are available as true dipoles without reflectors to special order (contact Sales). This will lead to a 3dB drop in gain and to compensate, clip on reflectors can be used to re-acquire this 3dB of gain. Customers must specify which model of dipole the clip-on reflector is to be used with, when ordering.

I actually quite like them - you get the wide pickup pattern of the dipole (though it's not a true Omni - you don't get gain for nothing) with a little gain.

And the Trantec gear is great once you get up in to the S5 range, I actually prefer it to Sennheiser. The cheaper Trantec's can be a bit plasticky though I admit.