Unauthorised work

greenalien

Last week, I sent off a piece of equipment for repair, with a note asking if the service dept could take a quick look and then phone me with estimated repair costs. Today I got a phone call saying the repair had been done, and asking for a sum of money that I consider to be more than the value of the equipment. Any advice?

Have you spoken to them? Are they saying that they didn't see the instructions that you sent with the equipment? If you sent the equipment to them in order to obtain a quote for the repair, and made it clear in writing that this is what you were doing, then I really don't see how they've got a leg to stand on as they've carried out the repairs without your authorisation.

I have had some experience with service centres that "estimate" the repair by actually doing the repair and then charging for what they've done, though with many they do stipulate this is what they'll do.

We don't do either of these as we feel it leaves a nasty taste and are always happy to have a quick look and give an estimate, certainly for some jobs the customer happily says "If it's going to be a couple of faders and half hours work - then do it".

In the OP's case, I do fear he'll now be caught in a cycle of "Well - we've fitted parts and we don't have the old ones and it's going to cost to remove them..." or "We did speak to you and you said yes".

It's not going to be an easy one to get around as ultimately they now have possession of your kit and they'll be loathe to let you have the kit back with their components fitted without payment. Unless you can come to something amicable, then you might end up with a box of spare parts being returned because they strip your kit down to remove the things they fitted and don't bother re-assembling.

You need to find their Terms & Conditions (either off old paperwork if you've used them before or a website) and have a look through those - they'll be the next things that get waved under your nose.