Small lighting?

Chronos

Hey forum guys, complete newbie here.

I'm a British musician working in Spain.

One of the guys I work with has decided that we need our own lights (because some places we play don't have them, others are just rubbish) and has given me the job of looking for it, as I am younger and apparently understand technology better than him... but I have absolutely no idea about lighting. To understand the extent of my ignorance, I just learned the word "Par Cans"

I'm looking for something very simple. 8 lights (sets of 2 together), running off a program from a laptop

Since our show is all run off a laptop (using a dj program to play the music) I was wondering if there was some recommended hardware and program that would play my songs, and I could set the lights to the music and save it so it does the same thing each time.

I've been looking on Enttec. No idea if they are any good or not, or what to get from there, but some sort of USB device that will make the lights work to the music sounds fantastic for me since my hands are bound to a guitar and my feet are already bound to a pedal.

Also it would be nice to know what lights I should buy as well so there are no compatibility issues. One of the Venues just gave me a Showtec Lightfoot lighting pedal and 4 starville led cans to try out, and I'm not sure (due to being completely ignorant to this) but from what I've seen on other sites, these two products do not work together. I did spend a good few days learning about dim switches and how to link it all up and I still can't make it work. So some advice on what to buy would be good. In fact, if you just tell me all the things I should buy that would be groovy :)

Any recommendations?