Rope - what type

numberwrong

Hiya

I want to buy a rope for hauling lights, picking cables before they're deaded off and alike.

I'm a lighting tech and don't do any rope access rigging stuff but I'm interested in it and can imagine in a few years I may require a rope for supporting myself not just a moving head.

What kind, thickness and length should I get with my future skills ambitions in mind? any advise or links to relevant ropey info appreciated!

Thanks

Buy two lines. One static for hauling, one dynamic for climbing. Don't mix the two.

I would get a chunky line, say 13-16mm and at least one decent pulley, preferably two to make purchase arrangements for hauling the heavy movers.

A dynamic line, around 10mm, would be good for climbing.

Hi There

The best thing to do is to buy two lines one for hauling and the other for your work line. Having two lines I feel is safer as your hauling line gets a lot more abuse, your hauling line should be static and be 13mm upwards but be careful not to go to big as this can get tricky tying round small things. Your work line also needs to be a static line because you should be using it in conjunction with fall arrest equipment which will not work (or not within manufactures specs) with a Dynamic rope, this is because a Dynamic rope has built in elasticty for use in the leisure environment.

On the last note make sure all equipment meets current reg for use in the work place. For example a normal climbing pulley normal has no SWL stamped on it.