Magicq busking philosophy.

ceecrb1

Recently my "lighting world" has exploded, where 2 years ago I would tell you I´m a sound or video tech, recently I´ve been doing nothing but opping lights...

People may remeber my "what desk" thread, Well I´ve had my MQ60 a month now and we´ve done a good few shows already... very happy with it!!

(on a side note, I´ve built an arduino midi flash button box for extra subs.. cheap and working a charm, runs from usb power.. Highly recomend looking into the idea for console owners who want more flashes).

I have a nice selection of djs and bands who are happy with the end results and using me for all their live shows.. double and tripple booking has become an issue..

BUT I think I´m just making my own life difficult with my self taught programming style.

The biggest eye opener was a few months back I was with one of my clients as they were playing the 2nd stage of a festival. I had my pc wing and a borrowed extra wing... and I just felt so "boxed in" and short on subs, even with the extra wing!

Then along came another visiting opp (clearly not self taught) who used hardly any subs on a pearl and wasnt working nearly half as hard as I was.. It really just opened up my eyes that althought I get the end result from the lights, I´m clearly doing things the hard way.

As I said, entirely self taught so I´ve really just been trying various things out, but self doubt has brought me here to ask...

So, for example a typical setup:

some wash heads, spot heads, Par leds, beam heads, blinders, strobes and smoke... Not too dissimilar to what I was opping last weekend for a small live band...

how would people lay out their subs for busking?

Clearly I´m over complicating things... mostly because while busking I just feel like I´m "triping over myself" with too much going on (even with a very small rig) so I´m spending more time opping "the desk" rather than "the lights" if you see what I mean.