help me, im new

kala

hello all,

let me first tell ya what I'm doing here... and then hopefully someone out there will be able to help!

Actually I know very little about the back stage world, and what I do, has been crammed into my wee noggin through research over the last three months or so ( not long I know!) so you can imagine how much I have to learn :)

Anyway... I am actually an interior design student in my final year at Edinburgh College of art.

For my final year project I am transforming Edinburgh's original odeon theatre into Queen Margaret University performing arts campus! My research has allowed me to plan the space sufficiently enough, but its the technicalities that are picklin me ed!

I have a detail due in in one week... :guilty: ... and what I am doing is casting the fly tower up through the building to rehearsal and studio spaces in the floors above. At this point the fly tower slices through the above floors and is caged in with glass/perspex, to act as a lighting feature in what has become a very open relaxed performance space to act as a contrast between the more traditional theatre space to a more art house performance space.... :blink: am I makin nonsense??

anyway... my question? is this possible, what is actually in the uppermost parts of the tower, where can I find out technical information about a fly towers rigging and pulley systems and anything else you can give me that I have not mentioned would be HUGELY appreciated!

tanks :wub: kala

Kala,

Having studied at QM's Gateway campus, I am sure that the lecturers there would be happy to help you in your task. This would also allow you to see the space they use at the moment and you could ask them which parts they like/dislike. The person you want to speak to is Scottie Anderson. He will also give you information on terminology. He is a very nice man!

Calder