Using White Noise for noise abatement

Doug Siddons

A client has asked me about reducing noise from his outside smoking area using a device generating white noise like this http://www.acousticalsurfaces.com/white_noise/white_noise.htm

I have no experience of this, they are apparently used in open plan offices for privacy ect. My gut feeling is that the white noise would have to be loud enough to drown the conversations and therefor create a bigger problem than the conversations. Does anyone have some experience of this?

this is my day job again...

the EHO is interested in the difference between the background level without the nuisance and the level with the nuisance - whatever that level is comprised of. the standard approach is to take a noise level when it's quiet - ideally at the complaint position (maybe outside restaurant/bar hours) then take the level again when the nuisance is in place. if the first level is exceeded then the onus is on the noise maker (restaurant/bar etc) to reduce the level to the background noise.

this reduction can be achieved wither by eliminating the cause or attenuating the cause. the maths of acoustics work against you if you produce another noise i.e. noise source 1 plus noise source 2 equals bigger noise source 1+2.

solutions I have employed in the past - acoustic screens, ventilation attenuators, better glazing etc. with open air conversation, assuming it increases the sound level at complaint origin (and it's always worth checking and quantifying the problem) then you are looking at acoustic screening (expensive) or relocating the conversation.