LX Plotting Sessions

AbbyD21

I am currently a student and in a recent LX plot session the following question has come up. During a plot who walks the stage, the stage management, the crew, or the LX crew? Also, are the unions in the UK (I'm from the US and I know the answer to this question there) very strict as in they do not allow a person employed as a lighting designer to pick up a lantern or anyone besides the board op to touch the desk, etc?

Thanks for helping to clear this up!

Abby

Regarding the crew, usually stage management in my experience, but often LX crew, as well as whoever happens to be around.

And no, our rules are non-existant in that way, if an LD wants to focus his own booms that is ually fine over here, worked with an american LD recently who thought it was christmas!!

Nearly every show I've worked for I've focussed or done board op and the LD has walked the stage. All my own shows where I've been LD, I've focussed getting one of the lx crew to walk the stage for me, usually operating the riggers remote.

(most of my shows are not really big enough for the split roles)

Owen

I've also done it both ways.

On some jobs, it works best to let the house crew focus to my design/instructions, and I will just watch to check it's all OK. Sometimes we need to provide a person on the stage.

In others, the house crew will assist (eg by walking the stage, moving the scope, and operating the riggers remote), but it's myself who actually does the focussing.

But performers can also walk the stage. A lot of my LX work is for dance, and I normally focus specials in conjunction with the dancers, as the lighting needs to fit their placing.

Basically, in the UK, we're a fairly easy-going bunch and there are no set methods of working. Everyone does it differently according to the circumstances of the show.