Tech terms: Step vs Proportional

howartp

Hi,

I'm reading the DMX spec for various lights to help determine which I might want to buy, and coming across the terms 'Step' and 'Proportional' control. Can someone explain the difference? Also, the Robe 575AT Zoom has a colour wheel channel which has various colour positions labelled 'continual positioning' with a single DMX value, then it repeats the same colours labelled 'positioning' but with a range of DMX values - could you explain how this works?

I've never used a DMX colour wheel before as the lights I've used have always been plain CMY mixing, but my logic is there's say 5 coloured circles in a wheel each of which needs one DMX value to select it? Why then two sets of values, one single and one ranged?

Cheers,

Peter

Proportional - This will allow fine positioning of the wheel. Allowing you to see two of the colours at once or half of one colour. Imagine a circular disc with lots of circular gels around the edge. Proportion will allow you to rotate this to any position.

Step - This restricts the disc to only show one colour at a time. Once you get to the next range of DMX addresses the wheel will "snap" to the next colour.

This is very similar to many scrollers that allow you to set either continuous or step modes.

Step/Proportional is referring to what will happen when you scroll along the colour channel from a desk. Step will just jump straight to the next colour, proportional will move the wheel relative to the percentage of the channel (so you can acheive split colours etc). On most fixtures across the colour channel you will have both at set values.

In my experience of Robe fixtures; the continual colours come first on the attribute and then the 'step' values after that.

Hope that makes sense.