How to project a gobo onto the sky(clouds)

alex_r

Hi there,

Can someone point me out from where to start?

I've never done before something like that, but I presume it can be done by some kind of outdoor direction light with focus point and which could light up to ~8km to reach the clouds.

I'd be thankful if you could advice me some models that I could use to prepare an order to our lighting hire companies. Gobo I can handle my self :)

Basically it's going to be for one festival, and the idea is when there will get dark I need to project vertically the festival logotype onto the clouds. In Ireland with the clouds should be no problems :)

The reason why I mentioned about the vertical projection is that the light itself should come up onto the sky from the ground, so some spotlights as we're using for concerts are not good for such jobs, quite big to dig in the ground. I imagine it should be something like city beam or alike

Thank you for help in advance

Regards

Alex

I'd think at that distance you'd need something like a searchlight, and I'm not sure how well that would work with a gobo. I've seen the Griven SkyRose used for cloud projection, but I don't know if you can put a gobo in them - I have a feeling that they just project a bunch of beams of light. They do make a 2500w version so it could be worth investigating. According to Wikipedia, the Bat Signal (which I presume is similar to what you want to achieve!!) is a specially modified Kliegl searchlight so that could be a road worth travelling down. I suspect it's possibly not something your local hire company will have in stock though....