Number of crew needed for outdoor and indoor performances

CDudley

Hi, I'm currently studying Drama and Theatre studies at the University of Kent and we're producing a hypothetical performance for our stage management module. Our performance will start in a theatre and the audience will then be moved to an outdoor, park area. I was wondering if anyone could tell me all the technical staff we would need? We were considering having two separate teams for each venue and both venues will have lighting, sound and props. We also have costumes and make-up that need taking care of as well.

We also need to describe the differences in stage managing an outdoor performance compared to an indoor. We have some ideas but any more would be appreciated.

Thank you

Welcome to the Blue Room. You'll find that we're not particularly keen on doing people's homework for them, and your question does read as exactly that, but if you say "this is what I think we'll need, can anyone see anything that we've missed" you'll get a much better response. Tell us what you think and then we'll offer opinions on that.

Erm, it sort of depends on what you need them to do? I'd also suggest your lecturer perhaps wanted you to think about it yourself rather than leap straight for the internet...

Lighting and sound could be one person or 5 or more depending on how much needs doing. Props could be preset on the props table before the show and left or it could be 5 ASMs catching them as they come offstage.

Draw up a list of exactly what technical things need doing at each site. Work out which tasks can be allocated to the same person. From that extrapolate required crew