Getting into Theatre

Hi,

I really want to get into tech theatre or stage management. The trouble I'm having is the decide whether to do a BA in Technical and Production Arts: Management and Technology or to do a BEng in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and get into it that way. Does anyone have any thoughts on what would be best?

My reasoning is that by doing TPA I'd make contacts in the industry, but when I qualify I'm bound to theatre. If I did EEE then I wouldn't have the industry specific knowledge, but I'd have the whole field of electrical engineering to fall back on if theatre work was hard to come by.

Also, does anyone have any advice on compiling a portfolio for getting into TPA? I'm in fourth year at school right now, so I have plenty of time to get plenty of stuff to put into it..... if only I knew what kind of stuff they were looking for!!

Thanks

Joe

If you can do EEE, then do EEE. As you say, you'll have a career to fall back on and be able to apply that to theatre.

Also, whatever Uni you choose, chances are there will be opportunities to volunteer to do technical for SU events or the Theatre Society's shows, this may be a better way for you if you can do that. I believe there is a member on here who's doing EEE at Sheffield and also doing technical on the side.

On the other hand, you could look at a more electronics based performance technology course. There's one at Derby that's quite good (Cough Cough) :P

Josh

If you have an aptitude for Electrical and Electronic Engineering - I'd suggest that your skills will be worth an awful lot more than being another theatre person looking for a job! Real engineers with the physics and maths can still do theatre, in fact, a BEng, and amateur theatre experience could be a really nice combination. How many times on here do we say "consult an engineer before proceeding" Wouldn't it be good to be that person!

Just finishing a Technical Theatre course myself - Go for the EEE.