DMX Colour Changer... LED or traditional Lamp?

Trav400

I work as a Technician in a secondary school and have been allocated up to £1000 to purchase some new lights. We usually do a main school show (musical) once a year, along with some dance shows and a few drama exams. The lights will be rigged on stage in the main hall which can seat 250 people. I was hoping to get some colour changers to rig on the main bar that will save me changing gels too much. Will LED's be bright enough? I have only used LED's once when I was helping out a DJ friend of mine and they didn't seem that bright. I don't really want to go down the scroller route. I have found this non LED colour changer from Thomann http://www.thomann.de/gb/showtec_club_color_wash_575.htm Would this be a good purchase or will it be more cost effective in the long run to go LED?

We already have:

Zero88 BullFrog desk

4x Betapack 2 Dimmers

10x Par 64's

20x Strand Minim's

4x Prelude's

4x Quartet's

4x Cantata's (rubbish)

4x Patt 743's

8x CCT Starlette F's

4x Coda 3 cell

4x Cheap 500w Fresnels

2x Showtec Phantom 250 Spot (great but noisy fan)

50cm Mirror Ball

Thank you in advance! :)

I have been looking at this as we are after some more LED kit for our rig at school, for £908.08, we could get 10 LED Par 56, 6 Floods and 16 Hook Clamps. At the moment we have two of the LED PAR 56 we are after, and for the size of stage we have they are perfect. Yes they have no dimming function, just RGB but there is a nice fixture on the Zero88 Desks for RGB with virtual dimmer function, which I think works rather well. The links for the units I am looking at are: