Wooden Beams and IWB's

schooltechie

Hi all,

Bit of background I left my school in 2007 and still help out with them on a voluntary basis. I recently discovered from the new site manager that the lighting rig hadn't been tested for a number of years and urged him to do this immediately. The result has came back and there are 2 points which need rectifying. The IWB's are suspended by some form of clamp around the bar then attached to the beams using wood bolts, the report has came back that these aren't adequate for supporting the load above people. The other issue is that the T60 upstage is hung off a bar which is suspended correctly, but the track is suspended with unrated chain and shackles.

They are getting a quote from stage electrics but as they are relatively simple tasks I feel that they can be done at a lesser cost easily. The T60 with threaded bar and appropriate clamps.

The beams are something which I'm unsure of, I have a lot of experience of using girder clamps off steel beams and using spansets and shackles. Spanies and shackles would be my normal route here but unsure of this in an install. Can anyone advise if this is acceptable or of another route suspending off wooden beams? If it does get done by the staff at the school I will be making sure that it has a load test and certifactes.

Or would this be something that is too complex and best leaving to the install companies. I'm happy in rock and roll and theatre but installs are a rarity for me.

Alex

So the IWB's are suspended by a clamp round the bar. (quite common) And secured onto wooden beams using "wood bolts" (Coach bolts?)

And what does your site manager suggest might be a better alternative? Without seeing the actual installation, it sounds pretty normal so far. Do you have a picture?

There's always a risk that as soon as you ask someone to assess the structural integrity of an installation that they will then cover themselves by suggesting it be upgraded to reduce their liability.