Electrical Training

Hi,

I'm currently a university student - studying Physics - who does a lot of sound and lighting in my spare time. The student union technical society are great, and there are opportunities to do PASMA, IPAF, Safety Passport etc. through them. I was wondering however about electrical qualifications. I've completed in-house PAT test training, though I'd be interested in doing some other qualifications to enable me to design/test temporary power systems and to work more safely with installed power. I have spare time in the holidays where I could complete such courses - though obviously I have a degree to do too, so I can't spend 2 years training to be a qualified electrician. I've had a look at some of the C&G qualifications but I'm not really sure I understand what each one would be training me to do. Is there anyone with the knowledge and experience to advise on which courses would make sense to take, and what I would be able to do when I'd completed them?

Thanks in advance,

Marb

The list I put together a year or so ago (and so is out of date) is this:

•City & Guilds 2330 Technical Certificate In Electro technical Technology level 2

•City & Guilds 2330 Technical Certificate In Electro technical Technology level 3

(replaced by 2357?)

•C&G 2382 Level 3 Certificate in the Requirements for Electrical Installations

•C&G 2392 Level 2 Certificate in Inspection, Testing and Certification.

•C&G 2391 Level 3 Certificate in Inspection, Testing and Certification.

•NVQ at level 3 in electrical installation (+ AM2)

•JIB card (+ Electrotechnical Certification Scheme)

•Competent persons scheme

–BRE Certification Limited

–British Standards Institution (BSI)

–ELECSA Limited

–NAPIT Registration Limited

–NICEIC Group Ltd.

•C&G 2377 Level 3 Certificate for the Inspection and Testing of Electrical Equipment (PAT)