Le Maitre Pro Stage Two and Six Way

mattevans

I own both the Le Maitre Pro Stage Two Way and Pro Stage Six Way.

I have discovered that under certain conditions, even when the batteries have been removed from the unit, the controller will fire pyros that are still connected.

I feel that this is potentially dangerous and so should be brought to the attention of the manufactuers and everyone that may be using them.

I do not wish to stop people from using Le Maitre's products and neither do I wish to hard Le Maitre's repuation because I really do like their products.

Thank You

Matt

I am far from a pyro expert - but I believe this would be normal operation, as the batteries charge up a capacitor inside the unit. It is the discharging of this capacitor when the fire button is pressed, that sends the signal to the ignitor.

I may be wrong, but seem to remember that there is a capacitor in the units from when Mark was speaking at PLASA.

The usual will apply in making sure that all is safe before firing etc., and because the key has to be in for a fire to happen I see it as safe myself. Why do you consider this 'potentially dangerous' - do you keep the key switched all the time?

David

Why is this dangerous?

It is true that after the batteries are dead (or removed) there is still a charge in the cap, this is because the cap is always charged and ready to go, if we wired it to short each time the key is turned off it could take upto 10 seconds (depending on battery conditions) to charge the cap Sufficiently to fire the maximum number of pyros we say. As most of us who fire pyros know, the key only gets turned immediately before firing, most of he time that is only 1-2 seconds before pushing the button.

I do take your point though, And I could see a situation where an inexperienced operator would conduct a dummy firing without batteries. If this were the case the test LED would also light and (I would like to think) would ring alarm bells.