Public Entertainment Licence?

Hi,

I'm currently looking into doing a battle of the bands type event.. as all of the events I have run so far have been church youth events/services we are exempt from applying for a PEL (as far as I've been told)..

the event will be held in a primary school hall which I'm pretty sure doesn't have its own PEL.. the event will be run by the church i.e. they will pay for hire of hall, we'll be using their kit...etc. Its not for profit making (hence the church will pay for hire of hall), its mainly as part of our youth work we do in marlow, providing young people with stuff todo..

I have read documents about applying for PELs and that theres special rules for community halls and such or is it exempt as its being run by a church?

any thoughts people..

thanks

Chris

<edit> arse I can't change the title.. SPELLING ;-)

Moderation: Spelling in topic title sorted - you only had to ask :)

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer...... Nor would I want to be....

My understanding is that the legal framework is uniform across the country, but the way in which it is implemented is largely down to the discretion of the local council.

A google turned up a number of reasonable FAQs on this subject - eg

http://www.hounslow.gov.uk/home/a-z_servic...ntlicensing.htm

In particular, that document discusses the "church exemption". This law makes no distinction between a church and any other building, however it appears to be common for churches to be exempt when used primarily for religious services, "unless scenery, special effects, stage costumes or other circumstances introduce additional risks to the premises". This exemption would normally not apply to concerts or shows in church halls.... so wouldn't apply to a hire of a school hall....

But in practice it varies from area to area.