Zero 88 Jester 24/48 HELP

tomo2607

I apologise in advance for my naivety when it comes to lighting. I'm more of a sound man...

FAO Mods: I have put this in "Next Gen" as I felt it may apply more here than in lighting but please move it if you disagree

I work for a school that is putting on its yearly musical in December. I've been working at the school for 12 months and so missed the last musical. The usual restraints of budget and aged equipment apply. The school recently purchased a Zero 88 jester 24/48 to replace there pulsar 12ch preset desk. There lighting system is very basic consisting of the jester 24/48, demux and analogue dimmers. We have enough dimmers to run up to 48 fixtures however this rarely happens and we don't have or use any "intelligent" lighting so to speak of.

This year the school wish to hire in some lighting fixtures rather than use their old stock items. They have told me that last year they used various LED fixtures including "wash" units (similar to 4 parcans in one unit) as well as some individual floor cans. All units have RGB LED's for colour mixing. A lighting board was also hired last year to run this. We have the DMX relay packs to power them but im a little concerned that the new lighting board that the school has purchased wont be large enough to cope with the fixtures.

So here is my problem and please bear with me as I'm not too clued up on DMX...