Tecpro Line Isolator

Hi all (and hoping this is in the correct area)

Does anyone know anything about the Tecpro/Canford Li906 Line Isolator? Is is literally a couple of XLR plugs with pin 3 lifted or is there some fancy termination wiring inside? I'd rather not pay +£30 for one if I can avoid it!

... or is there some fancy termination wiring inside? I'd rather not pay +£30 for one if I can avoid it!

Power is passed through the unit while the communications circuit is interrupted. A new line termination network is provided for the new circuit.

Yes but you need to terminate the feed to the chain that follows or it becomes unstable - this is done by the psu or master station - and as you've effectively removed this when the comms circuit is broken, you just need to put it back. If you use a male-female barrel type adaptor - Like the polarity reversal ones, the resistor could simply be inside - plenty of room.

And which pins should this be soldered across? (Sorry I'm not very good at this!) :)

May I suggest you take a look again at the post that I made above. I don't think being "not very good" is any excuse for "not reading" as the pin numbers and all the other information you need is in the linked webpage.

:)

Hang on - so is the circuitry in the schematic plus pin2-pin2 (all inside a male-female connector etc) placed between eg. 2 parts of a daisy-chain of beltpacks all that I need? Slightly confused now... :)

As long as the line is terminated somewhere it'll be fine. Any topology is acceptable.

Blimey this is hard work. Pin 2 is the DC power, so that passes straight through. Breaking the connection between pin 3 in and pin 3 out breaks the audio - BUT you need to add these 3 components between the output of your isolator - pins 1 and 3 - here's the diagram again.

http://www.dmx512.com/web/comms/tecpro/tpterm.gif

so that's the capacitor and the 4K7 resistor in parallel, soldered to the ground pin (1) the these two to pin 3, via an extra 200 ohm resistor.