Installing IWB

mattmbr2005

Hello people.

I am a theatre technician who has been approached from my local college who wants to install some IWB's.

1. One of these would be suspended from a box beam, so in my experience I have always seen this by using box steel or angle, and clamping the beam with studding either side. However is this a correct method? (As long as the threaded rod is correct spec etc..)

2. I intend on installing it myself as I have done a fair bit of rigging bars in theatres and am more than confident it will be safe (In fact it will probably be better than the last bar a 'company' put in!) - Can I just confirm that so long as I get a company to load test the bar, and give it its certificate, there is nothing wrong with this?

3. As I am not an electrician, I intend of buying IWB's with socapex connections on the end (as there is loads available on the market) and runnig socapex out to them. The run is not in any special air circulation void or anything; but today I was told I cannot use socapex for a permanant install. I find this hard to believe, as it is everywhere in theatres I work at, but can any of you people shed light on this?

Many, MANY thanks for your help!!!

Matt

To the best of my knowledge it isn't banned under the current version of the regs. In years gone by the iee wiring regulations prohibited the installation of a flexible cable longer than 2 metres. Many electricians (me included) will stick to this in most regular installations, and I think the general consensus is that it is bad practice in most situations.

Personally I wouldn't use soca or recommend it, but I wouldn't have any concern about it being used as long as it is installed in accordance with BS:7671.

In years gone by the iee wiring regulations prohibited the installation of a flexible cable longer than 2 metres.

IIRC that went out when the 16th edition was published in 1991.