Working in New Zealand

willdart666

Hi all,

The girlfriend and I have decided that we would like to see a bit more of the world and experience life in a different culture. We've decided to move to New Zealand as her brother lives there and we've heard great things about the country.

My only concern is my job, which I love. I'm a lighting engineer and would like to continue to be so in NZ. Does anyone have any experience of what the industry is like over there?

I've heard mixed reviews of the situation. One New Zealander I know says I shouldn't have any problems getting work but it's mostly theatre and corporate, and others (mostly Brits) have said there's nothing and I'm wasting my time.

I would be willing to change careers if the right job came up but for now I'd like to know what the live events industry is like there.

We've set a target of between 3 and 4 years to move so there's plenty of time to gain a bit of experience in areas that I'm not 100% on right now to make me that little bit more attractive.

Have you all the working visas that you need? Tourist visas are easy to get, working visas definitely NOT easy to get.

Have you all the paper certificates that you need, you could need the NZ equivalent of approved electrician and all the other qualifications that you need and use here.

Have you all the working visas that you need? Tourist visas are easy to get, working visas definitely NOT easy to get.

Have you all the paper certificates that you need, you could need the NZ equivalent of approved electrician and all the other qualifications that you need and use here.

3 to 4 years is the current plan, I'll get to the visa once the plan is more together.

Qualifications are one thing I'm looking at right now, trying to find out what I can do here thats recognised over there is quite on my mind. I'd rather not spend all my time and money on something that will end up as worthless and be of no benefit to me there.