Help with equipment for filming a show.

jab46

Hi Guys,

Having spoken to some people at my school, I thought it would be a really good idea to film our next production properly I.e more than two cameras, recording audio properly and changing shots. I am new to this side of things, but I am really eager to learn new skills in what this involves.

As far as equipment is concerned, we already have a Sony HDV1000 and some other cameras that all in film in HD. I am not to bothered about what the res is as long as it is HD as I am able to change it later in FCP Compressor. For audio we will be using a Mackie TT24 desk with pit band, vocals and ambient noise going through it, so thats all sorted.

What I really need to know is the best way for me to do this, I will be wanting to put a couple of mounted cameras at the front of the stage and maybe a couple from wings and in the rig (might be an interesting shot). I am aiming to get hold of another Sony HDV1000 for a different angle. Is there a relatively cheap and good place to hire these from? Please bear, there is not a budget for this in the overall budget so cost is a really important factor. Please could someone let me best way to A) record the audio B) what equipment I am going to need for mixing the video and having a live play back of all the cameras. Can this be done through FCP or Adobe Premiere Pro CS5?

Thanks for your help

Jab

The answers to all your questions rely pretty heavily on what the purpose of the recording is; is it for an internal record, in which case, a very basic setup would suffice or for sale as a DVD(Copyright dependant), in which case people are usually expecting something for their money.

However to answer your questions as they stand.

Please could someone let me best way to A) record the audio
For audio we will be using a Mackie TT24