Maplin LED kits - can I run a wire from the board to the LED?

Jram

I need to make a prop which looks like a component part of a sophisticated computer system, and the script calls for all sorts of dials and switches, but also for flashing LEDs.

I don't know much about electronics, so my (hopefully straightforward) question is, if I buy the kit to make a metronome, a stroboscope, or an electronic die, can I use wires to extend the distance between the board and the LED?

I'm not talking by much, but if I was to solder six-inch long wires from the board to the LED would it still work? Because that would let me hide the board within the prop, and run the LED to a hole drilled in the casing.

I haven't done physics since 4th year, though I did some soldering (of these very kits) when I did my degree five years ago. Hence why I'd rather make a simple modification to a ready-to-assemble kit rather than try and follow any of Big Clive's various experiments, for example.

Advice appreciated, thanks :)

Wasn't sure if this should be in Effects & Pyro or Props & Wardrobe instead, sorry.

To simulate a computer thingy you need something more random than any of those. There's a random LED flasher circuit on my website here. Go to the "WWRY Mind Control Helmets->Hardware" page. If you need any more info send me a PM.

An easier solution might be to just buy a bunch of flashing LEDs - available from CPC or loads on eBay.

That's the easiest, quickest & cheapest idea, true random. Wire all in parallel with individual limiting resisters off a couple of AA batts to give 3V.

Buy different colours.

Wire all in parallel with individual limiting resistors off a couple of AA batts to give 3V.

Bear with me here, like I said it's a while since I've done anything like this (I'm a carpenter/props dresser to trade)...