Generators & Plugs

Will-Baker

Hi,

Doing a show in a few weeks time, and due to the venue having major electrical issues, we're having to power our dimmer packs using a generator. I've calculated that we're going to need a 60KVA generator to power 4 Betapacks.

Does anyone know of anywhere that is reliable and reasonable on price in the Yorkshire & Midlands area?

We also have the option of taking the Betapacks down to single phase, and run 60amps down that... If I did, is this likely to affect performance or anything else?

We recently purchased 2 Betapacks which came with 32 amp 3 phase plugs attached... but surely as at most the packs can draw 60 amps, isn't this restricting them? If so, I can ask the electrician to fit 60amp plugs (or 63amp, whichever actually exists).

Would really appreciate some help on this as I'm no pro, and certainly not an electrician!

Many Thanks

we're going to need a 60KVA generator to power 4 Betapacks
Only if your fully loading each betapack..

We recently purchased 2 Betapacks which came with 32 amp 3 phase plugs attached... but surely as at most the packs can draw 60 amps, isn't this restricting them?
No, in fact a 32a 3phase (red) connector has plenty of spare capacity in it. Put simply, each phase is a line of available current, so in this case, you get 3x 32a lines, thats plenty, even if you fully loaded your betapacks. You could get these racks converted to single phase (blue) with a 63a single phase connector fitted quite easily and with no limit to functionality, just find a sparky that's happy to take on this kind of work. 3 Phase in more detail.

Does anyone know of anywhere that is reliable and reasonable on price in the Yorkshire & Midlands area?