Light boxes

Nick LX

For an upcoming production in November, there is an idea of creating several light boxes which have the ability to change colour, and I was wondering what the best way to do this was. I've already had a few suggestions, as well as thought of my own ideas, however as I've never done something like this before, you guys might know the tricks.

Basically these light boxes are going to be constructed in one of two ways:

1) So that the front is made from a plastic sheet like perspex so as to diffuse the light with vertical strips of wood spaced about 4cm apart across the whole flat (4ft wide). Then about 6inches behind that, will be the "back" of the flat, which will be white (either from wood being painted white, or from a white cloth stapled to the wood.

2) So that the front is made from just the vertical strips of wood spaced about 4cm apart across the whole flat (6ft wide). Then with a back similar to number (1).

One of the ideas that has been suggested is using colour blocks (DB4) with a bit of Leelux 400 in front so as to diffuse them. They would then be pointed at the white background, and hopefully if we had them side by side along the bottom of the flat, they would cover the whole thing. (considering it will be 4ft high).

My idea was to use schick schnacks (sp?) which line the inside (stuck to the wood). However I was wondering whether they have enough light output compared to the DB4s, and whether they will give an even cover.

Our aim is to be able to change the colour of the light boxes to anything we want, and also to have some control over them, because we will have 6 in total. Given that we don't want the flats to be more than 6inches deep, are there any other LED options we should look at? Also what is the best way of diffusing the light given out my particular LED products?

I will try and get some drawings done although I'm on a computer that doesn't even have Paint.

Opinions?

Cheers