XLR output on Mixers?

the-techi

Yes, most desks have XLR out. Sub £200 and you may well be looking at prosumer items where they think Jack (TRS) is the standard, or small form faxtor desks i.e. folios.

to run two speakers
just incase, are you after a mixer/amp combo like the soundcraft power station? A mixer by itself will not run speakers.

Where are you looking?

There are a few OEMS out there, thomann is a great website to get you used to general prices, and kit.

Behringer are more entry level than 'midrange' but I have the equivalent to this (without the usb) as a back up and works just fine.

Well, it depends entirely on what you need for your own situation.

When you say 'Live event mixers' what sort of events do you envisage doing?

As a student I suspect at this stage you're likely only to be looking at modest gigs at your school, for which, if I'm honest, means you'd be fine with any mixer that suits your budget, as long as you have an amp that can be supplied by whatever mix outputs that has. That could be RCA (phono), TRS (jacks) or XLR. Mostly you can either buy or make up patch cables to suit.

But I wouldn't restrict yourself to looking just for mixers/amps with XLR ins/outs for a school setup. You DON'T need to have pro-quality gear for the majority of school applications. (Unless you're a huge school that regularly does large-scale musical productions...)

Yes, most desks have XLR out. Sub £200 and you may well be looking at prosumer items where they think Jack (TRS) is the standard, or small form faxtor desks i.e. folios.

to run two speakers
just incase, are you after a mixer/amp combo like the soundcraft power station? A mixer by itself will not run speakers.

Ah okay, thanks for all your responses... I guess I will just have to buy some Jack to XLR adaptors, it seems to be everywhere I look that the outputs are jack.

The speakers are active speakers by the way so I thought could be run by a powered mixer?