Lighting Music Gigs

karl

I was looking at some music videos on You Tube including ones filmed at gigs.

I (obviously) noticed the lighting. Some, at pub/club venues, consisted of sticking stuff on 'sound to light' mode and letting it get on with it but the bigger gigs are obviously very carefully designed. It got me wondering how you go about designing lighting for a gig. Not so much what kit you use but how you use it.

My background is in lighting drama and more often than not the design is driven by time/place and or mood/atmosphere. Also in drama the aim is usually for the lighting to go pretty much unnoticed. With music you don't have the same constraints and starting points so where do you start?

Do you design a number of 'looks' and then deploy them as the mood takes you or do you carefully choreograph the lighting for each song? Do you work in conjunction with the performers or do your own thing?

I'm not looking for a blow by blow guide to gig lighting - I'm just curious how it works in general in the music side of lighting.

Happy song? Sad song? Contemplative song? Rocky song? Dance number? "In yer face" number? etc. etc. etc.

Go with the mood of the song and you won't go far wrong.

But is that something you'd preplan so each song (or part thereof) or is it as thmadhippy says a case of going with the flow?