Movers lighting design/programming

Munro

Hey. I don't want to spark off a big debate here as to whether movers should be in schools or not.

So, today I recieved 4 Robe 575 AT colourspots, I have placed them as follows.

back left

back right

front left

front right

Of my stage.

I also have a hazer, we are hiring them for our end of term show, the H Factor, (our x factor spoof) anyway, they are closing our school down soon so this will be the last show.

But I am in need of some help. The fatfrog is not the most mover friendly lighting desk, so any tips will be appreciated, I have never used movers before, and require some knowledge. Please share.

Thanks

Joe

Not knowing your space it's hard to say, but I don't think one per corner will look great....

When you say you need some knowledge, what are we talking....have you addressed them? Do you know their channel allocations? Are they on hard power?

1) I would suggest that your desk is running the latest firmware (10.12) but at this late stage it is probably not a good idea to start updating it. Make a note of your version though as there have been some significant changes and this may affect your method of programming.

2) Make sure you have a VGA screen plugged in.

3) Decide how you want the desk to act when programming - Tracking Off, On or On(--)

4) If you are running the movers live then my preference is to put the brightness of each head onto one of the submasters and then program a selection of colour, movement, position and beamshape pallets.

5) Also when live use the F1 button to lock the VGA screen to the Pallets.

Have a good search of the BR if you get stuck when it comes to assigning fixtures and programming as there are some very good instructions on here for when the manual does not give you the answers.

The space isn't huge, about 35ft by 15ft. I say corner, they are more like this

____*__________*___

|~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|

|~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|

|~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|

|~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|