DMX total noobie

Mark M

Hi there, just signed up after reading through these forums for quite some time. I have very little knowledge of lighting which is why Im here and have some basic sound knowledge. So down to business;

Im after some LED cans for a very basic setup (its for jamming sessions in my drum warehouse to give it a bit of rock and roll feel) however I have absolutely no idea about anything DMX so all info is greatly appreciated.

If I were to get 4 LED cans I assume I would also need a lighting desk of some sort. There wont be any real need to upgrade anything other than maybe another 4 par cans.

I had a look on thomann at the led cans and they use 5 DMX channels :rolleyes: So am I right in thinkin that if I wanted to use 4 independently I would need at least 20 channels on the desk?

Looking at the picture it looks like I need to run a power cable and a DMX, It has DMX in and out so does that mean I can run one from the desk to can 1 then link from 1 to 2 2 to 3 etc?

Think that just about covers everything but if anyone has any other info or links to good articles Im a keen learner.

Oh and forgot to add I'll be getting a hazer to put near near the stage for added effect

Many thanks, Mark

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Firstly, Welcome to the forum and I hope you get the answers you need!

The Thomann LED Par's are very good build quality and very good price also!

They are 5 channels and you're right to think that you'll then need 20 channels on your desk if you wish to control each Par individualy. Although you can control all of the cans together IE they all turn on and change colour at the same time.

I believe the channels on those cans are:

Channel 1: Intensity

Channel 2: Red

Channel 3: Green

Channel 4: Blue

Channel 5: Strobe

You've got it almost down to a tee, you power them all up and simply daisy chain the lights together so cable from the desk into the first light, from the first into the second etc etc..