Get out clause

Hi my name is Dan Yates, and im doing some research into the bectu get out clause in theatres, which is that to work a get in you have to work the out, but the out is not included in the number of hours that you work, and generally finding out how its affecting technicians and crew.

Any input would be greatly helpful.

I think you may need to be a little more specific in what you're asking...

Do you have a link to a page which specifies in detail what this clause is? (To save us all Googling the BECTU pages...)

I know that the big receiving venue I work as a casual in brings as many people in as are required for either ins or outs - and the two teams can use the same bodies or a totally different crew... I guess it depends on availability to a great extent.

Practically, however, I'd say that a good core of the get-in crew would be necessary for the out crew - just for logistical reasons. They would normally be in addition of course to the production tech staff. It's also common for many of the crew running the show during performance to NOT be on the out - for obvious reasons.

There is (or always was) a BECTU clause which stated (if I remember correctly) that you had to call the same number (or more) of crew for the Get Out as you did for the Get In (we're talking touring shows here). There was also a policy of give crew who worked the in the right to work the out. I don't think though that it was compulsory.

The reason (again, I believe) for this was that Get In were/are paid at a not very attractive single time rate, where as the out was/is paid at a very enhanced rate. This acted as a form of compensation.

I'm not sure what the OP means about the out not being included in the number of hours you work - except that the hours would be treated as overtime and therefore would not be included in the 40 hours of standard time covered by a full time contract.