Help, DMX issue, lights doing strange things??!!

Louis_Opus

Hey everyone,

New to forum so first of all, hi to you all!

I'm a resident DJ at a nightclub in manchester and also the only person who has any technical knowledge in the entire venue....unfortunately that means that when there is a problem its usual falls upon me to fix it.

We only have a basic rig and it is controlled by a Pulsar Masterpiece 216. The rig consists of 4 Robe moving heads, 8 Future light scanners, 3 dimmer packs controlling 8 par cans and 4 UV LED washes, plus 2 Pulsar strobes.

Basically, last weekend, part way through the night some of the Pars, the LED UV washes and one of the scanners started to do strange things, basically flashing at low levels and very randomly, almost as if on a sound to light setting. The only time this stops is when the masterpiece is turned off or the DMX feed from the desk is unplugged. This is now happening everytime we turn on the rig and I need to work out how to stop it.....

Does anyone have any ideas as to why this could be and maybe a solution?? One thing I have noticed is that the last fixture on the DMX line is the one scanner that was involved in the erratic behaviour however it is not the last address. thinking on, the fixtures that are behaving erratically are using addresses 1-19 (19 being the address of the scanner. All fixtures addressed after this are behaving as normal.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Louis

Sounds a bit like there's a low level chase activated within the console - have you ruled this out?

Thanks for the replies.

Yes Thanks Dan have ruled out the chase on the controller, was one of my first thoughts too.

Having checked the scanner on the and of the DMX line, there is no terminator in there and from what I know of the Futurelight scanner it does not self terminate, so am gonna put a terminator in and see if that helps.

fingers crossed thats it!

Louis,