Phantom Power issues maybe?

JMackenzie

Hi Guys and Girls,

I am new to this particular forum, and so so glad I have found it.

At long last I know that someone out there will have the answer to my problem.??

I use a Behringer SL3242FX-Pro mixing desk at work, which is a permanent fixture, never been moved, or seen the light of day since its installation in my school theatre about 3 years ago.

Last week it started behaving badly, power switching off and on evey 3-4 secs, after 5 mins from powering it up.

I removed all outputs, and inputs from the desk and observed its behaviour over a period of time. To cut a very long story short, and finding no help whatsoever from Behringer or their one and only service agents in this country, I have resorted to trying to fix this thing myself.

A Few facts which I notice , but cant get my head around , but maybe you guys can .

If I switch the mixer on , without the phantom power on, it stays on for hours.

If I then put the phantom power on , after 5 mins the whole thing starts this on / off cycle.

I realise that the power supply is faulty, but I am told that THEY ( Service centre for Behringer) cant source one because of Chinese suppliers being unable to provide the item within a sensible timescale.

My question to you guys is however a bit more searching .

In normal use , I would be using 5 Sennhieser radio mics(lapel type), a couple of hand held AKG radio mics , some SM58's , and a few CS1000 condensers, and DVD or CD inputs to the desk.

The desk has global phantom power, so has to be on for the condensers.

Could I have damaged the desks power supply by trying to feed all these different inputs with the 48Volts.? :)