Software support

david_no_name

We've just been chatting in the coffee room about possibly needing someone new to do telephone tech support for our rental software.

Before I even start thinking about making it into a real position, I wondered if there are many techs who have a good knowledge of the rental market and can drive Windows, but now want to settle down to a 9-5 job ?

I.e Am I going to be better off trying to recruit a tech from this industry and train them on the level of computer knowledge they'd need and the specifics of our software or am I going to be better finding someone with a good knowledge of computer support and then train them on this industry and the specifics of our software ?

I have a feeling the former, but would appreciate any ideas/feedback from anyone else.

TBQH I'd consider myself to fit into both categories, I work in the industry as a freelance tech, but also did a desk job not too long ago as a VoIP phone system support tech. Failing that, I'd go for someone from the industry and then train them on the software/support side of things, rather than the other way round.

PS

Why is your current place of employment/ study listed as "secret". What have you to hide? :** laughs out loud **:

Why is your current place of employment/ study listed as "secret". What have you to hide? :** laughs out loud **:

I have no idea. One of the mods set this account up for me several years ago and then invited me along. I've never tweeked it so it's probably an old default.

If you want them to support the software, I'd go for someone who knows the software and fits in well with the company. End of. Whether he/she knows the industry is neither here nor there as long as they know the software (and what makes a good cup of tea)