Ipod's into a sound desk?

Ali2580

I'm quite new to all this stuff so sorry if this is an amateur question.....

I was followspotting for a show once and I knew the guy who done the sound. He had a Yamaha MC7L and he had his Ipod into the desk which obviously came out the speakers and I wasn't sure how that worked.

Then, the last show I done I was on the sound (it was a variety show - singing, dancing etc) and one of the performers asked if they could plug their Ipod into the desk (it was a Soundcraft LX7ii). Of course I said "Yeah, if you knew how." As I had no idea.

My question is - how does it work? Is it a special cable you need for the Ipod into the desk or do you have to get a special docking station for the Ipod which can connect as an Input to the desk?

Thanks if anyone replies

you need a cable that plugs into the headphone output of the Ipod, then goes to the line inputs of two channels of the desk, (or a stereo input), whatever the appropriate plugs may be for your desk. then treat it as any other stereo programme source (eg minidisc, revox, CD player etc.)

I bought one of these:

iPod Dock Connector

iPod dock connector - 2 x RCA phono. While a bit flimsy, they do provide a line level signal from the iPod, without being affected by the volume on the iPod. Quite handy for getting sensible level, although does restrict you to one brand of mp3 player!

Neil

Hmmmm ... how about these 3.5mm >> Phono or 3.5mm >> 6.35mm :** laughs out loud **:

Exactly what I was thinking Chris!

Apple has actually managed to achieve turning most people who know little about sound, but enough to know what a headphone socket is, completely clueless :)

Think back to Walkman days, virtually anyone who owned one could figure out that you could get sound from it by plugging something into the headphone socket.

No disrespect meant at all to the OP!

Sign'o the times I guess :blink: Being a technical geek, I can't own anything without knowing how it works :rolleyes: