Pyro Rules and Regs

DJUnreal

Allo all, anyone here able to point me at a list of rules and regs for pyro use in the UK please? I'm working with a school theater setup and the people there seem to have differing ideas on what is and isn't legal where pyros are concerned, partly including an instruction from the director to get some pyros in, and then being told by a paid technician that it's not gonna happen... Being a student I can't just go "well that's bull, I'm gonna put 4 maroons here and 8 silver jets there and blow them all up at once"... but yeah, if anyone can point me at a full list of the UK Rules and Regs I'd be very grateful.

Thanks in advance

JoHn -- Venture

This thread contains much which is relevant to your situation.

But I have to say, it sounds to me like the theatre technician at your school doesn't want it to happen. It's their venue, they're presumably accountable for health and safety within it, and therefore decide what goes and what doesn't - and if they say it doesn't happen then I guess you have to resign yourself to the fact that you ain't having any pyro in your show!

Thanks very much guys, I will be pointing these rules and regs to the tech and the director, with any luck we can all come to an agreement on what is and isn't safe... seems to me there's a bit of a grey area with it but could just be my misunderstanding... am I right in saying the venue only requires council inspection to check on suitability once the relevant risk assessments in school have been carried out? I'm a little new to all this stuff, but it seems that the age rule is a little confuzzling to say the least... having read the other thread it's helped me a fair amount...

Thanks again guys

JoHn -- Venture