Lighting Portfolio

Sam Lindley

All technicians,

My name is Sam Lindley and I am a student at Bridgwater College. They have just started a new course called Production Arts. This course covers all aspects of backstage and FOH work in theatres and gigs.

I have been set a task to make a portfolio with as much infomation about ANY type of lighting; catalogues, desk manuels, new lights, infact any thing to do about the subject. I am appealing to all users to just post any type of information on this thread for me and any one taking this course. Alternatively you can e-mail me at scam.1@hotmail.co.uk

Many thanks

Sam Lindley

Learning Outcome for Stage Lighting Operations

Know how to use a portfolio of reference material

Published data: specifications, reviews, images, drawings, price lists, accessories

Analysis: photometric data; comparisons; cost features; reliability; complexity

Controls and dimmers: types; features; presets; channels; masters; control

protocols; power supply and calculations

Luminaires: eg profile spot; fresnels; PAR; floods

It is important to note that while we are very happy to help you, you have to produce material yourself to get access to the higher grades. If we give you info and you know nothing then you might get a pass

P1 collect data during research and identify key components

The important word in the Merit Criterion is that it must be relevant - and if we do it for you, you won't know, will you?

M1 collect relevant data including technical information

Quite a bit needs to be done for a Distinction. So collecting a huge pile of information that you don't understand really isn't worth it.

D1 collect and present the data in a format suitable for use. Additional learner produced documentation should be included

I'm pretty sure the person who wrote those criteria rather expected YOU would collect the material from sources YOU discovered and then once you understood what you'd got, you could do something useful with it.