Sending video wirelessly

Kopy

Hi Guys,

Just a quick question for everybody - sorry about my ignorance but I'm a lampy by trade (convergence and all that!)

Is there any way to send a video signal wirelessly? Ideally RGBHV at 1024x768.

If so which system is the best?

I'd ideally like to do this without line-of-sight, if this is possible.

Thanks (hopefully) in advance.

Adam C.

In my experience sending video wirelessly is always difficult, and should be avoided; it will usually reduce the output quality, often drastically. Depending on the distance you want to transmit, using video over Cat5e Extenders can be a good alternative, I recently used this to run a video camera feed to a projector feed, in a church. Most cat5 extenders have a range of 150m or more, though you can use booosters.

Total purchase cost last check was less than £100.

Video over radio/wireless is fairly easy..as mentioned it can be done for sd/hd signals in sdi/hdsdi format..using Gigawave System (presteigne.co.uk keep them) or other similar systems. They do only take Hdsdi/sdi so u'd need a scaler (ImagePro HD) to convert to hdsdi (so u'r format choices are 720x576 or 1920x1080)

If a cable route is possible then u can run 1024x768 to about 300m on cat 5, with decent senders/recievers from the likes of Rose. Fibre is also an often these days used method.

I've just used a Gigawave system on a car launch and found it to be very good, even through Brick walls! But we only ran Sd Cam signals, so wasn't pushing it in terms of bandwidth.

Thanks for the replies guys - the microwave thing looks good! Unfortunately cabled isn't really an option - the event is in the check-in area of an airport and the signal needs to be sent to the departures area. You can see into the departures area through the glass but for obvious reasons it's all sealed!

I don't suppose anybody knows any suppliers in Queensland though?