Rapid DMX LED switching

flimflam_machine

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to the lighting game so please accept my apologies for any technical misnomers and feel free to demand clarification. I really would appreciate anyone's help on this.

The quick version: I need to set up a lighting system which can switch states extremely rapidly. By rapidly I mean that I want to be able to switch a particular light source on for 60 milliseconds (yes, 0.06s). The lighting-up time (i.e. from dark to fully illuminated) needs to be in the order of 10 ms (0.01s). Assuming I'll be using LEDs, how should I acheive this?

The longer version: we want to record some video (at about 60 frames per second) and need to switch lighting conditions between frames. The idea is to combine differently lit images from successive frames. The provisional setup is 3 RGB LED ParCans, it's pretty simple because we only need to illuminate a small area. For each can we'd like to cycle Red->Green->Blue or Red->White->Red->White really rapidly (i.e. about every 20ms). Assuming that it is physically possible for the LEDs and the power source to switch this quickly (I've done a bit of research here), the problem is how to control it. DMX consoles appear to assume that nobody would want to switch this fast and so don't allow it, which means that we'll have to use a PC-based controller. So:

Has anyone come across a piece of software that will allow timings to be entered down to the level of 0.01s?

Apparently it takes at least 24ms to send a full 512 channels of information. Does anyone know of software that can speed this up by sending fewer channels (I think we'll only need 12)?

Will a USB-DMX dongle cause us problems? As I understand it, some dongles essentially buffer the DMX signal which will reduce the rate at which we can send control signals out. Are there any that won't cause us this problem?