Upright Truss

Nick LX

Hi,

I am planning on having an upright square truss which will be attached to a heavy duty base plate. It will also be secured to an upright pole which is set in the ground with concrete. What I am wondering, is if it is possible to rig a moving light on the side of the truss.

Hope you understand.

Thanks

Yes it is - make sure that the truss is stable enough to take the 25+ kilos that the moving light puts on one side. The higher up the truss the mover is, the more force needed to counteract it.

HTH,

Chris

EDIT: PLEASE NOTE: As Ynot pointed out below, I have no real-world experience. This is purely based on common sense and AS level Mechanics!

Yes it is - make sure that the truss is stable enough to take the 25+ kilos that the moving light puts on one side.

Sorry, Chris, but you base this definitive answer on what, exactly?

Experience?

Training?

Back of a fag packet guesstimation....?

It will be feasible to do what the OP is suggesting, BUT there are several things to bear in mind.

If the moving heads are going near the top of this 3m truss, then there is a definite potential for a LOT of stress to be placed on the supports. I sincerely doubt that any of the head movements will be synched in any way to counteract each other, so there are going to be a LOT of varying forces pulling the truss every which way.

The OP also doesn't say what ML's he's looking at...

Tin-pot disco movers, or heavy duty VL's are at opposing ends of the weight ratio scales...

This is not something I would contemplate without a good deal of investigation, to be honest - and certainly not on the basis of having discussed in an insecure 'net forum.

The potential for 10 feet of truss being pulled over with a fair weight of moving heads on the top is to be quite frank a bit of a high risk...

<snip>