Working in Canada

techtech

Hi All,

I'm thinking about working in Canada. Has anyone had any experience of this? Can anyone recommend any qualifications that would be useful to the Canadian entertainment industry?

Also could anyone recommend any sites / mags that would advertise positions abroad?

Any help would be much appreciated. I have had a lookee around the web but have not found any thing yet.

Cheers

techtech (Stockman)

;)

As if by magic, the shopkeeper appeared!

First things first: The immigration part. This would be, by far, the hardest part. I'm now a permanent resident of Canada, which I did under the "family" class - my partner and my grandfather and uncles are Canadian citizens. The family class is "fast-tracked" which meant that my application took 8 months to process. If you apply via the points system (you can probably qualify - I had enough points to do it that way) the current waiting time is 31-38 months. That's 3 years away. So you had better be sure.

It's also an expensive process (I reckon I've spent about £3-4k on the process, including moving expenses) and can be pretty stressful. They won't talk to you on the phone, or correspond in any way except if you go and visit the High Commission in London, and even then they aren't very helpful. Basically they'll keep you entirely in the dark until the day they send you the "Passport Request" letter. Or, more likely, a letter explaining that there's something missing from your application. (They lost my Criminal Record Check - the only document you had to send the original of, and the only document that takes 40 days to replace.) It's extremely frustrating - and my experience was on the "Fast-track"!