2 Avo questions

Kater

Hi,

Long time reader, first time poster :)

I have two questions I'm sure you guys can help me with, both related to Avo desks:

1. I'm a regular operator on a pearl 2004 and at the last gig I noticed that pressing the right or left arrow function in program mode allow you to scroll through selected fixtures. This is a very nice feature, but now the question is: how do you turn it off without clearing the programmer? Before you tell me, yes I have checked the manual but since I'm not too sure what this feature is called I'm having trouble finding any info.

2. Tomorrow I'm operating a sapphire 2000, I've checked the manual and all, but I was wondering if you guys had any pointers for a regular pearl guy operating a sapphire.

Cheers!

1. If you want to use this function, go into User Settings and one of the options is either Chase Control Enabled or Fixture Control Enabled. If you enable fixture control then the chase direction buttons perform the same function as the left and right arrow but there is also a button called All, so once you have finished scrolling through the fixtures if you press All then all the selected fixtures will come back on. Never worked out how to do All when using left & right arrows though there may be a way. I find this function very useful for creating/updating position palettes.

2. You'll find that the Sapphire is very similar to a Pearl (they run the same motherboard and similar software), there aren't any major differences I can think of other than the separate Palette keys with LCD legends. You shouldn't have any problems if you know the Pearl well.

EDIT: Edited for SPAG.

To add:

You can toggle between Fixture/Chase control with [shift]/Softbutton B. When Fixture Control is enabled the cursor keys do not work.

Further, you can toggle whether this function also solos the relevant intensity channel or just affects fixture selection through ML Menu 2/Softbutton E (Highlight).