Data or Video projector?

loriloulabella

I am an art student working with light projection. As I can never seem to book out a projector when I need it from the university I am considering buying or renting one myself. But where do I start. What I want is a projector with high light visibility (lumens) as the subject is the light source itself and not so much the projected visuals (re Anthony Mcall). Would I need a data or video projector and what is the difference? Can anyone help me with this

In a nutshell, data projectors are designed for use with a PC or laptop with the only input being an SVGA normally. Video projectors are designed to handle a wider range of inputs and will usually include a variety of other input types including S-Video, Composite Video and Component Video. The unit will automatically scale the image to suit.

Steve

That said nearly every projector I have ever seen or used in the last few (read 7 ish) years has had both video and Data inputs.

The term is used pretty much interchangeably between units all the time.

In regard to the OP, what source are you using, but possibly more importantly what level of light, and screen size is in the room when your hoping to project. This will define what you need to have as a base brightness to make your machine seem 'Bright'. In a dark room, 2500 lumens may seem bright, but in a light room, 10,000 could seem dull and washed out....

Thanks for the response, this is great! Im planning on using as dark a space as possible and black out any light. room size is approx 9ftx9ft I think. I was planning on getting hold of a haze machine too to help illuminate the beam. Also I think I will be working with quicktime movie. at the moment im just experimenting with an overhead projector, blocking out most of the light with templates.