BECTU vs EQUITY

gherriott

I am at the stage where I am wanting to join a union, to not only cover my own back in terms of PLI, but also just to have a body behind me if I ever need it. My question is: Which one is better for me? I am currently a uni student studying technical theatre, yet I do a lot of freelance stuff outside of uni. My main area is LX and sound comes in a close second. Are Equity as good as they say they are? Or are they still more for Stage Managers? Is there anything that BECTU offers that Equity doesn't?

Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Greg

As Andy says - Equity are more aimed towards Stage Management and Actors - though depending on the sort of work you do when you leave university you may still find you self employed on an Equity contract. If you find this happening a lot (say you end up doing a lot of small scale touring as a technical SM) you might want to consider joining Equity.

However, as you express an interest in PLI, then BECTU is the way to go as I don't believe Equity offer this (somebody correct me if I'm wrong).

You have to pay extra for the BECTU PLI but it still works out more cost effective.

Joining a union will not necessarily protect you from bad working practices but it should give you more support should you need to take on an employer. And while you may not benefit directly from a collective agreement, the continual pressure from unions to improve both wages and working conditions for the people they do negotiate for will have a trickle down effect for the rest of us. Well worth supporting.

T