Followspots HELP PLEASE !!

jack2609

Hi Guys

I am currently studying a lighting technology course at university and have been set my first assignment.

We have to write a report on a luminaire commonly found in British theatres in the 1980's, then compare and contrast to a modern day version.

I have decided to write my report on the followspot luminaire, as I already have a lot of research done on history, origins, limelight as well as the modern day equivalents and developments. However, I have crawled the web for hours upon hours trying to find information on what followspot was commonly found in theatres in the 1980's and found nothing!

If anyone can point me in the right direction of what followspot was commonly found in British theatres in the 1980s that would be a great help.

Thanks in advance

Jack

These were very popular in the 1980's. We've still got two working today.

Thats great, thank you!

so is it correct that I could mention that, beam size is not variable, unlike most if not all modern followspots, along with no boomerang etc

How do you focus these units?

Any advice or information on maintainance of these would also be greatly appreciated.

If I have to reference where I found out the information on which were common in the 1980's, is it possible boatman that I can referance your full name and where you work etc?

Many thanks again, you have realy helped me with my project already, that was like the missing peice.

Any other suggestions and posts would also be greatly appreciated as I have to mention if there were any other simular units around at the same time made by manufacturers other than strand.

thank you :)

jack

the Strand 765 was the professional version of these and did come with a colour pack, the 293 was really a 70's light and not over-bright.

And, Jack, you can get more info about the 765 here: http://www.strandarchive.co.uk/lanterns/p765.html

and the 293 here: http://www.strandarchive.co.uk/lanterns/p293.html