Guidance on lighting career...

Hello,

Just looking for some guidance in the right direction and any information you could give me.

I'm currently an 18yr old apprentice electrician on my level 3 C&G 2390 which I will have completed June/July 2008, also at the weekend I work with my dad as a mobile DJ which I really enjoy.

I have always wanted to get into lighting in the theaters but never know where to start and how to go about it...

I was thinking maybe go down to my local theater and asking them how I go about it but I'm not to sure on what qualifications are needed..

If qualifications are needed can someone give me abit of info on them and are theses course ran at colleges or university?

I'm pretty limited due to where I live atm (Barrow-In-Furness) but I drive so that’s not much of a problem now.

So if you can point me in the right direction that would be great!

Carl

This link gives you a full list of all the kit in Forum Twenty Eight, together with the technical manager's name and contact number. Make an appointment, have a good read before you go and ask lots of relevant questions when you get there.

Good luck.

Hey thanks a lot for that!

Can I just a quick question.. would I be best to take a course in stage lighting? Would it be worth it to give me more experience or would it be best to get hands on somewhere if possible?

Thanks again,

Carl

It's a bit late to be thinking of starting a course in this academic year, so get some experience under your belt and apply next year. Besides which you need to finish your C&G 2390, there's nothing worse on a CV than "Abandoned C&G because I found something more interesting to do".