Would appreciate some advice regarding an employment position

Apologies if this is the wrong section of the forum to post this question, but it seemed the best place for it!

Last week, I attended a job interview for the post of theatre technician at a prestigious independent school someware in the UK. It would be a part-time flexible post, so I would still be able to run my own company, albeit on a reduced level and "do my own stuff" also.

The position will be a fairly demanding wrole, that would involve a lot of teaching lighting design, sound design etc, as well as supervision, equipment maintenance, testing etc. They were very keen to hear that I am a qualified electrician also and have plenty of IT experience. I could see myself being roped in to lots of things!

The interview went very well and the school had a lovely, vibrant atmosphere that was evident for the short time I was there. I am pretty certain that I will be offered the position.

However the pay for this wrole is only £7.50 per hour, that took me by surprise when I was told. For a position that requires skills and experience, a well as experience of working with children (of which I have plenty), I was a little shocked that a theatre technician position seems to be held in such poor regard financially. I know its not a brillianty paid position to begin with, but at £7.50 per hour, I can earn more being a cleaner! Is this a "normal" rate for such a job?

Not sure on this one. If I get offered the position I would very much like to take it, but not meaning to sound arrogant, I value my skills and experience a little more than £7.50/hour.

Thanks,

Dan