Become an amatuer sound eng!?

Josh 2

Hello to all,

First post. My apologies in advance if I am not allowed here. I looked at the intro/poll thread to say hello, but I then felt like a bit of an imposter as everyone seems to be qualified in some related field… sorry I'm not!

If it is okay for me to post questions, can I outline a brief scenario and ask for some real basic advice please.

First off by way of explanation, I'm a hobby musician, not in any way a sound tech/eng type. For home use (dedicated room and my personal instruments), I have a Samson TXM20 mixer going into (unknown model, but small!) Pioneer monitor speakers, a Behringer K1800FX PA/Keyboard amp, none of which is really relevant except… a friend, who plays with a local 5 piece band (small clubs/pubs etc) has asked me if I would like to help with their sound set-up. The reasoning is they are rarely happy with their live sound and feel that I get a better sound (accepted it would be a different story outside of my "room") with my mixer than they do with their gear.

I must admit, I'm quiet chuffed to be asked and would like the opportunity to get involved/learn, but first question is… would I be getting in over my head and/or messing with something best left to pro's (which the band doesn't have anyway)?. I also wonder if my Samson deck is good enough!?... I would use the bands existing speakers.

Would you guy's think this is something for a beginner to get involved with, or should I run a mile (perhaps the band will run a mile!)… if yes can I ask for some further advice.

Thanks for reading and again Hello to all.

Josh

Hi Josh, and welcome to the Blue Room.

Not to worry, everyone is welcome here - amateur and pros alike. This is what makes it such a good information sharing experience.

If you're interested in advancing your knowledge of sound then I would say, yes, get involved with the other band as the more you do the more knowledge you will gain.