Terms and Conditions

Heapsy

Hello,

Today I am in my last day of full time employment before entering the big wide world of freelance!

I am a sole trader, and am just hiring my services, I don't own any kit.

Before when quoting for jobs I have never included any T&Cs to which the customer automatically agrees to adhere to when accepting my quote but having just had 2 weeks work cancelled at the last minute I'm planning on adding some. :)

I am thinking the following:

Payment - Agree to pay full amount within 30 days of invoice date

- Legal stuff about late payment etc

Cancellations - Agreed fee for cancelling a gig

I'm doing OK with the payment ones but am struggling to phrase the cancellation T&Cs.

Would people mind posting what their T&Cs state?

Also, what figure to people ask for from a cancelled gig?

I don't want to make a bad impression on potential clients but also feel the need to protect myself.

Sorry this is a bit of a ramble, your thoughts would be appreciated.

Heapsy

Let me start with an important point that's off-topic from your original post.

A key thing is that your Ts & Cs are worded such that your clients contract for "services" (ie they get a, b, and c done for them) rather than for your service (ie you work for them for so long). Included in the former should be the right for you to send a substitute if you are unavailable. Otherwise, there is a danger that you will be seen as a casual employee (and subject to tax/NI at source) rather than a self-employed subcontractor, especially if you repeatedly work for the same clients. There's lots of other posts about this on BR.

Regarding cancellations, practices vary, and I've found it hard to get clients to agree to pay cancellation fees for anything more than a day or two's notice. If you're not prepared to be flexible, the chances are that someone else will be. But I'd charge them the full rate for a last-minute cancellation.