Advice Sought on School Upgrade

simonbirdsey

Hi,

I'm a media technician in a high school. I'm a complete newbie as far as lighting goes, but I'm trying to upgrade our hall. The state of play is that the sales rep that we have had in suggests that we have new DMX installed and that we upgrade from a Zero88 Alcora mixing desk to a Fat Frog at a total cost of about £3800. I didn't catch the wattage, but he came in to demonstrate some Robe profiles as well, which come in at £1500 each...he suggests that we get a pair.

I'm sure that the guy's legitimate, I just thought it sensible to do a little research on my own rather than taking his word for it.

As a newbie, I'm not quite sure which specs are important, but if you ask me things, I'm sure that I can go and find out what we have.

I know that the list price for a Fat Frog is £2175, wherever you go and that's set by the manufacturers. He has even suggested an LCT (?), which is about £300-£400 cheaper. Plus he's offering us a discount on the package.

I suppose my concerns are about the DMX, as I guess we must already have it to run the Alcora. I'm pretty much in the dark, so I don't know if it's totally necessary or not. Aside from that, are £1500 moving head Robe profile's what we need? They were certainly very impressive in the demo, but do we need to spend that much and are we getting the best product for ourselves or is it something that they're trying to push? I even considered getting just one at the moment...do we really need a pair?

Like I said, I have a feeling that he's genuine, but I'd just like to back it up a little. Especially as two years ago, before I joined the school, we paid the same company £13,000 for an overhaul of the system and now we're talking about new DMX, new dimmers, new lamps....

Any advice appreciated. Sorry for being so vague and newbie-ish!

Si

A few comments,