To buy or not to buy

madjock

Hello,

For a while now I've been toying with the idea of buying a console. Would like to know your thoughts, I'm a freelance lighting designer not a company. Would be bought and used on my jobs with the potential for sub-hire when I'm not out. I've had the privilege of travelling all over the world with my work, however can sometimes find a lack of programming time when I leave Britain certainly Europe. If I had my own console I could have the show banked before I leave but is it worth it?.

Question 1. who's bought and found it to be helpful to there career or who's bought and later found they've wasted there money?.

Question 2. With weight loading at airports space in trucks etc, What do you think is the most powerful but relatively small console on the market at the moment (sorry realise "best desks" is a constant topic) but I'm interested in the efficiency of fast programming and size.

Any thoughts much appreciated,

Madjock

If you're a freelance lighting designer who works internationally you have more idea than most people who post on here. If it is that big a worry in terms of plotting time etc why not an offline editor or a PC based control system?

I don't know a lot of lighting designers with their own desks. Well, none actually.

Hi,

Ok you haven't said what type of work areas of lighting your involved in so its hard to know if your talking about theatre/tv/music whatever.

I don't know many theatre designers who own there own consoles but I know a few involved in the Music based touring who do,if you were to take the plunge a few things to consider.

1)Get a quote for worldwide insurance for whatever you buy and subtract that from any rental income you may or may not get.

2)If its a Higher spec console like an MA,Avo,High End work out what spares your going to need and add to the total price.